LGBT Democrats of North Carolina Meet to Elect New Officers

Greensboro, NC – On Saturday, November 9th, 2013 LGBT Democrats from across North Carolina met at Guilford College to elect new officers and chart a path for future growth.  Members from near and far assembled as outgoing President, Ryan Butler, conducted the meeting in the packed convention room.  Butler reminded the delegation of the progress which has been made in the short two years since the organization’s inception.

The historic path began with a handful of LGBT organizers in the heat of the fight against Amendment One and ended with a unanimous vote of approval by hundreds of North Carolina Democratic Party State Executive Committee members.  In that short period of time the first county chapters have been formed, a valiant fight against Amendment One mounted, Democratic candidates supported and caucus members elected to the 2012 Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, NC.

Newly elected President Ralph Rodland pledged to move the state auxiliary forward with an aggressive agenda to expand county chapters across the state and to become a voice for Democratic principles in North Carolina.  Rodland has pledged to see 15 new chapters formed in the coming year and to make our voice heard and understood in N.C. Democratic Party politics.

“Once we have increased our membership and fully developed a dialogue with all members of our community, we can organize and affect change in elections that will enable us to fulfill our primary purpose—electing Democrats all across the state,” LGBT Democrats of North Carolina President-elect Ralph Rodland said.  “From sponsoring canvasses and phone banks, offering candidate development resources, and creating a published statewide endorsement slate, we can truly ensure our community is a fully integrated and sought after voice on all issues affecting Democrats in our state.”

The LGBT Delegation also unanimously adopted a resolution thanking N.C. Attorney General Roy Cooper for his public support of marriage equality.

The following individuals were elected officers at Saturday’s convention:

Ralph Rodland, President

Chris Speer, Vice President

Robert Kellogg, Secretary

Kirby Heard, Treasurer

To become a member of the LGBT Democrats of North Carolina or for assistance in forming a county chapter please contact Chris Speer or Ralph Rodland.

This entry was posted in Events, President's Council, What we're about, What we're doing, Who we are. Bookmark the permalink.