Mayfield Wins Charlotte City Council

Congratulations to LaWana Mayfield, Charlotte’s first openly lesbian council member, who won in Tuesday’s election…

From the Charlotte Observer [posting an article on a newly elected member who defeated a GOP incumbent]:  …The City Council will have two other new members, both Democrats. LaWana Mayfield won the District 3 race over Ed Toney, and John Autry defeated Dennis Peterson in District 5.

Mayfield replaces Democrat Warren Turner, whom she defeated in the party primary. Mayfield will become the city’s first openly gay council member.

“I took nothing for granted,” Mayfield said. “We were still at knocking on doors, phone-banking. We made it to all 15 of our precincts today.”

LaWana won her primary in September over an incumbent, with 51% of the vote, attributing her success to volunteer efforts and door to door canvassing. She also serves on our own State Executive Committee for the LGBT Democrats of NC for the 12th District. congratulations, LaWana!

This entry was posted in State Executive Committee, What we're doing, Who we are. Bookmark the permalink.